Tuesday, March 26, 2013

EL Azteca

Going to try a new wrinkle in covering soccer, the game I love. Going to publish a running diary of tonight's game. Instead of focusing on reporting what is happening tonight, like I did on the DC NYRB game, tonight I am going to talk about how I a fan am responding to this game. I try to be impartial, and for the most part I think I am. But when it comes to the USMNT I can get a little more nationalistic. Tonight I will try to reign that in. I know no one reads this blog yet but I still want to work on this craft of covering sports.

6:35 Pacific ---  By know everyone knows the starting line up. Edu in for Jermaine Jones and Besler in for the, I assumed injured, Clarence Goodson. I personally would have gone with Edu in at center back. I would  have gone with him at center back  regardless if everyone survived the snow game.(prefer his speed and passing ability) And then slot Beckerman and Sacha in with Bradley as a three man midfield. I was really unimpressed with Zusi in Colorado.This would be a bit of diamond with Beckerman in the six    and put Dempsey in the hole. Then move Herc from the left to up front with Jozy.

I know that Beckerman does not have the athleticism that we would all prefer at the six. But he is tactically astute, is rarely caught out of position and is good passer out of the backfield. The problem with my formation is the need to have width from the fullbacks.  Beasley is a natural winger and Cameron is game to run but it could leave the flanks exposed against the talented Mexican wingers.


7:07 Came back from the bathroom, left when the outside the lines piece started, to hear Alexi Lalas trying to say that you need to be proud to wear the national team jersey. I think the idea that dual citizens don't want to represent the US are unworthy is a bit of hyperbole. It is difficult to travel and it is actually easy to get out of it. I really don't think that to many of the players don't want to be there. I think this goes back to another point about some of the old guard, who don't want to see, or offended by the idea of, a change from the US team being a hustle and counter attack team.

7:13 Ochoa and Guzan. Going over the goal keepers. Can't say that really gets me too excited. just want to see the game. Though this ESPN blow coverage is great. Also so nice to not have a NFL theme song, and announcers running the show. I am looking at you Fox. They have gotten better but the regular Fox coverage, although nice was insulting.

7:21 Players about to the take the field.Coverage talking about the crowd for the game. They drop the price for the US to get more true fans not spectacle fans. don't want a super bowl crowd.

7:22 Alexi does not like the idea of taking the game to Mexico at all.

There has been some build up that Azteca has lost its fearsome reputation. Partly the number of US players play in Mexico. Mentioned the vastly improved air quality. I also wonder if part of it is also that so many more Mexican players, than in the past, play abroad, so the conditions, That is the smog and altitude, take as much getting used to as they do for the away side.  Also the pressure on the Mexican team is so high that I wonder how much of them fear as much as relish playing in front of that ruckus crowd that will turn on the home side if they fail to live up to expectations.

7:25 National Anthem. Mexican couch asked the fans to be respectful of the US anthem. And although it was still Azteca they seemed to be more subdued about it.

Kick Off.

30 seconds in and Dos Santos already causing trouble.

Lets see how Besler does tonight.

3' US is taking it to them. Playing in their half and with men forward. If we are to win here we need to maintain possession and not just bunker. Make Alexi eat his words.

5' Dos Santos is challenging Cameron as a right back. Set Pieces and Edu covering Hernandez. Good I like that.

6' Away team has not won a qualifier between these two in 41 years. Sir Ian putting the task in perspective.

7' first bit of Mexican possession and the ole's begin. Good clearance by Beasley.

8' Then salcedo gets in behind. Beasley was high and Besler was still deep. Beasley picks up a yellow right outside the box. Gio buzzes the cross in front of goal but it was high and hard and no one went for it. Need a replay but think Besler should have stepped up for the offiside call.

13' getting sloppy. could have been a penalty on an off the ball play with Bradley  then Omar with a good clearance. if we play high you have to keep possession. something we are not doing

14' cameron needs to do a better job of maintaining possesion.

15' dempsey finds Gomez on a great run. First corner for the US. Cameron had it almost on goal but called for a push. Did not see a foul at all.

20' besler with a yellow card, to slow down gio from a full sprint with the ball

22' good defending on Chicarito so far. keeping the ball, then a low percentage pass to the corner.

24' Corner from the US. horrible delivery from Herc.

26' left 17 wide open for header on a set piece but hits is weakly at guzan. Bad defending good break.

28' got lucky chicarito should have buried that cross.

30' another Mex corner... US now in full bunker mode.

31' better from beasley report states what is obvious he is staying narrow and they are doubling  up wide on the side.

32' Altidore been quiet but they have not got him the ball even long punts have not been in his direction.

34' not playing out of the back, hitting some weak long balls.  Need possesion. this crowd is uneasy but we are not doing enough to keep pressure on mexico.

35' case in point Zusi with a great tackle to win the ball of off garrado then rushes and hits the pass to Altidore to high.

36' as Taylor has said Mexico really pushing and open for a counter. But as Alejandro states you need possession to break the Mexican rhythm.

38' all possesion in first two lines 4-2 bypass the third line to Altidore to try to win all the balls in the air.

39' great build up, Bradley, dempsey and altidore, 1 2 touch passes split up the middle cleared off Bradley s feet in the box. This is why people don't want bradley as teh 6 even though he passes better from there.

41' Altidore mis reads zusi bad give away. quick mexican counter and a horrible cross from garrado saves the US. Chicarito with half a yard going near post. ball gets hi 20-30 yards long of the far post.

43' good punch away from Guzan

44' edu just to hard of pass to spring dempsey down the left.  Team builidng chances off the hold up play of Altidore. Finally passing into the big guy.

46' Altidore gets foule dangerous free kick 4 0 yards out. Ocha knocks it out wide to touch.

Halftime. nil nil .Nothing to complain of for the US but nothing really great either. We played well and kept some possession  Not enough chances but not bad. Will probably look for Sacha or Beckerman to come in and move Edu back for Besler in the second half. Got to watch the yellow cards.

51' Comp problems. Beasley had a nice clearance but came up tight, hopefully nothing serious.

The US came out in a 4312. Moved Herc up top with Dempsey in the whole. but with some switching  morphed  into a 442 with Altidore on the left. An odd look for a few minutes there.

53' beasley is having trouble with aquino. But who doesn't  Beasley gets stepped on now, and omar with a great clearance.

54' Eddie Johnson coming on. maybe zusi?  Maybe but no comes in for Altidore.  Okay that is a surprise, but maybe this will be for a more counter attacking look.

58' Omar with a great clearance with chicarito  splitting the defense. Gonzalez has really impressed me tonight.

59' Mexico is frustrated having trouble getting anything in the box. The crowd is getting restless. Having trouble conjuring up that bit of brilliance in the final third.

67' was putting my son to bed... but nothing really happened. US still playing a 4312. Neither teams is creating much

69' Davis in for Herc. probably moving to a 442 4231.

73. Beasley down injured. great game for him. Beat up little guy but just keeps going. Johnson charged the left mad space, got the byline and overhit the cross.

76' WOW not sure that was a correct call. Edu seemed to have commited a clear penalty comes from behind basically right at the spot. Ref signals a corner and Mexico goes wild. And should. Edu got some of the ball but it doesn't matter a penalty. This was legit unlike the one on Bradley in the first half. It was two handed but slight contact and not at all part of a play.

81' minute Omar Bravo comes in for Aquino. Mexico is going for it

83' Break Shea in for Graham Zusi. Davis moves right. Going to stay with the defense. The center backs are playing well and as beat up as he has been has gotten better as the game has gone on.

86' right now just hold on for the draw

87' WOW just got lucky....  Bouncing Ball in the box and Chicarito wiffs after Besler(I think) did.

89' minute time to get going.

4' of stoppage time,

93' Guzan with a big stop. Really his best save of the game. Corner after corner for Mexico. Finally Goal kick for the US.

FULL TIME...BIG POINT FOR THE US..... Got Lucky on the some calls but that is the best the US has ever played for a full 90 at Azteca.  We did not score like in 09 but we kept a clean sheet, with out a first choice defense. We also maintained more possession.

Great Performance. Good night got an early flight, Family vacation.






No comments:

Post a Comment