Thursday, April 18, 2013

What A Horrible Week.

So this is way late but I am going to do a quick recap of some the games I watched in MLS last week. I normally write this up Monday  but between some other obligations and just a horrible week for America I have not had really any desire to write anything up. But on wards and upwards, I need a good distraction and I need to write.

So instead of my normal write up I am going to just offer a few brief notes from this past week in MLS.

RSL 1 at 1 VAN

The Whitecaps have a lot of positives from the game but where lucky to get the point at home. Although creating more shots on goal, other than two Camilio chances, a great Rimando save and a free kick off the bar, they did not create much going forward. RSL got a good goal in the second half. VAN left the rookie Garcia with plenty of time on the ball and he hit a perfect ball that dipped over the keeper. For future defenses playing Garcia, so far he has shown some speed and the ability to hit a great ball with time, so don't leave him time. The play reminded me of playground hoops, where you leave a guy open until he can prove he can hit the jumper. Well Garcia has proved it so MLS should take notice. As well Garcia has shown that he is not used to the speed and physicality of MLS.  Vancouver got the equalizer on a harsh PK. RSL defender Nat Borchers, slipped on the fake turf while under no pressure in the box and as he put his hand down to brace for impact handled the ball. That was the ball game. Russel Teibert looked very good for Vancouver, he took his first start and showed that it will be hard to take that position away from him.

NE 0 at 0 SEA

Seattle not scoring at home vs. NE just shows that they need to figure out how to use the offense players they have. Hopefully for them Martins getting healthy will help, because their defense is not strong enough to win games for them. This team was built to score goals so score goals it needs to start doing.

DC 0 at 2 NY

NY looked great this game. Henry took over and played wonderfully. DC however is just a mess. They have only one player who looks like he can score, Pontious, and he plays as there right midfielder. (a 442 diamond that plays more like a 433 with a wide midfield and bunch central front three) DC will need to get DeRosario fully fit, and I believe play Ruiz more if they want to generate any offense.

CHV 0 at 1 COL

The kids in the mountains keep getting it done. The rookies on Colorado beat the other great kids from no where in a fairly drab game. Dershon Brown scored on a PK after drawing the foul. He continues to look good Clint Irwin saved a Pk and two teams that looks destined for bottom of the league in preseason both look competitive.

DAL 1 at 1 LA

This was an odd game. Had two missed PK's Both Kenny Cooper and Landon Donovan had PK's saved, neither took a great shot. Cooper had no power after his stutter step move, and Donovan failed to hit it all the way to the side netting and kept it waist high. Donovan's is probably the least worrisome, he is just starting the season, but Cooper needs to quit trying to be reactive on PK's and just hit so the keeper can't save it. Both PK's where not the heaviest tackles though both where fair calls. Leonardo was probably unjustly given a red, it is hard to see that play as the last man on a clear cut scoring chance, but he did bobble his pass to the striker and brought him down. In the end George John got his head to a rebound, as Hassli headed the ball to the cross bar on a corner kick. John was then struck in the back of the head with an aluminum bear bottle, by his own fans. Might just be one of the stupidest moves by a fan of all time. And like that 10 man LA lost.


EDIT.  I originally  forgot to write about one other Game I watched over the weekend. Also glad that the Boston craziness has now gone from ongoing police action to clean up and recovery mode. That with, dumb Senators, and West TX made for a horrific week here in the states.

San Jose 0 at 1 Portland

This game was really one sided and ugly. Timbers controlled the game through out and San Jose really had no offense to speak of.  Most of San Jose's problem came from putting DP and leading scorer Chris Wondolowski on the wing. This is not a position he excels in. He is best as a poacher up close to goal. The idea behind this move is to get him on the field at the same time as both Lenhart and Gordon. The problem is  both Lenhart and Gordon are big physical players and it is not clear if they up top together will create enough offense.   Against Portland the two where completely ineffective, neither was able to hold the ball, both's strength, and the San Jose offense was stagnant. Gordon had a complete shocker of game, yelling homophobic slurs at Will Johnson on camera, (got a 3 game suspension) and getting a second yellow for a elbow to the face of Silvstre, that left the Frenchman bloody and mad.  Defensively San Jose kept Portland at bay through physicality. The lone goal of the game came on a sublime Will Johnson free kick from 20 odd yard out.  No matter how you look at the game the Timbers where the more positive team, and created the best chances.  To make matters worse for the quakes there fans are starting to get a bad reputation around MLS, something that needs to be dealt with, by support groups, the organization and the league.

Monday, April 8, 2013

Monday Morning Recap

So it is monday morning time for my recap of the MLS weekend.


FC Dallas 2 at 2 Toronto FC

If Dallas is going to be taken seriously this is the type of game they need to take care of. Like many people who watch the league, I have been surprised by Dallas's early record, but I have not been sold on them as a legitimate contender in the West. Getting a draw on the road is not bad, giving up two late goals to, what has so far been the worst team in MLS, is a problem.

The game was even with neither team creating chances until the 34' minute when Kenny Cooper headed down a deep Michel free kick to Andrew Jacobson who hammered it home for the opening goal. From there on Dallas was in control from the rest of the half, and added a second, a great run from Blas Perez, in the 59th minute. The match continued on this form until seemingly out of nothing, and against the run of play Justin Braun was able to get a goal. The play started with a hopeful punt lofted in towards goal. Dallas keeper Fernandez comes of his line to get the ball, but Mat Hedges was all ready committed to head the ball. Unfortunately Hedges was unable to do more than pop the ball in the air. Then Braun followed the ball and was able to knock it in goal. After that the goal the game changed complexion, Dallas seemed confused and Toronto came alive. The equalizer, from Darel Russell seemed inevitable.

Philadelphia 1 at 1 Columbus

Just like Dallas, Columbus needs to win games like this if it is going to be considered a serious contender. MLS playoff format is forgiving enough that Columbus should get a playoff spot in the East, but dropping points at home is not a good formula for success in any league.  I did not see all of this game but from what I did Columbus was flat and if not for some hustle from Dominic Oduro Philadelphia would have gotten the win.

RSL 0 at 1 Colorado

RSL came out flat and Colorado had its best game of the year challenging for every ball and routinely wining second balls. Saborio had a saved penalty, the legend of Clint Irwin continues in the Denver, and hit three free headers wide. While Edson Buddle, had just enough to hold up the ball and draw 4 RSL players and get a ball through to Atiba Harris for the easy goal.  Just minutes after the Colorado Goal RSL was awarded a penalty when Dillion Powers yanked down Kyle Beckerman as he was trying to jump for a corner kick. I know that Colorado fans feel that it was a weak penalty, there are arms and grabbing on every dead ball play, but when you are isolated away from the scrum, you keep a player from being able to jump, and the ball is hit to that player you really are asking for a penalty. Also to even the score, RSL missed the penalty and was denied a clear penalty in the second half when Saborio was yanked in the box.

More interesting in the game was some of tactical choices made. Kreis opted to pair the rookie Devon Sandoval with Saborio at forward. This made the normally narrow RSL even more compact. Normally Saborio has been partnered with a forward who stretches the field, either vertically like Findley or through wide runs into the channel, Espindola. Sandoval however, although ready to run is more of a smooth passing target forward. I assume Kreis wanted more height against a short fast Colorado back line. The pairing did not work well  partly because Colorado was able to pin back the Fullbacks, taking away the width RSL needed to whip in crosses to make the twin towers pairing more effective.   Colorado also opted to match like for like, playing in a narrow diamond midfield, instead of the 433 like the first meeting this year. However once Colorado go the early goal the formation changed to a 4231. This formation allowed Colorado to stymie the RSL attack, funneling them even more narrow. This was particularly evidenced late when RSL pushing for the goal had an uncharacteristic trouble playing the ball outside of its own half.

Houston Dynamo 0 at 2 Portland Timbers

Once again Portland is involved in a game with two very different halves. The first half was all Houston, although kept out of goal, Houston looked likely to score most of the half and looked to be one of the best teams in the league easily bossing around the other heavy weight. Portland also lost David Horst, just recently returned from injury, to what one hopes is not terribly serious knock. Though being taken off on a stretcher is never a good sign. They also lost Argentinean play maker Diego Valerie to a elbow, that left him leaving the field with a black eye and a looking woozy as he walked off the field. The second half however was all Portland. The first goal was a wonderful cross from Diego Chara that a on rushing Ryan Johnson knocked off the keeper in and in. It was not a good finish but it got the job done. The second goal was a Darlington Nagbe with a gorgeous pass to spring Ryan Johnson on the left wing. Johnson took the ball in stride and slotted home a great finish into the corner of the net.

NYRB 1 at 3 Chicago Fire

The Fire, like the Rapids, get their first win, and NYRB keeping are always the same. NY has some good players, they also have some players who are not playing well. Holgerson is struggling, Juninho has yet to put his stamp on a game, Robles is playing timid, Olave is having some mental lapses, and Peguy Luyindula keeps getting himself in dangerous positions, but can not seem to hit the ball on frame. Speaking of not being able to hit the ball at goal, what about Chris Rolfe it is becoming comical at this point. but smacking the PK wide is just how it is going for him.

NYRB got on th ball first on a interesting dead ball that was heading around before Jamison Olave had the acrobatic finish. Then Dan Paladini got one back Dan Paladini got one back, after the Rolfe PK miss. Once Henry, for NY, and Maicon Santos, for the Fire, came on in the second half the momentum shifted. Although the NY defense looked shaky at times, NY had control of the game and looked likely to score while the Fire offense looked disinterested. Then that all changed when Maicon Santos beatOlave down the left and scored a go ahead goal against the run of play in the 83'. Santos, always a streaky player added another in the 89'. Jeff Laerontwicz got in by Olave near post to head the ball across goal, where Santos was making run by Holgerson.


So that is the weekend that was in MLS. The only other game of the weekend was Vancouver getting a road point with a 1-1 draw in San Jose. Although I did not see the game the word is that Whitecaps scored the equalizer while two Earthquakes where changing there cleats on the sideline, leaving San Jose down to 9 players. Not sure who to blame for that, but you can't fault Vancouver for playing while San Jose is trying to sort out issues that they should have had figured out before hand. You would think a home team would know which studs to wear on their own surface in all conditions. 

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Another Week

Sorry about last week. I was on vacation with my wife's whole family and did not have a chance to cover, or watch, any games.

DC United 0 at 1 Sporting Kansas City

The weekend's first game was a dud. Neither of these teams have had high octane offenses so far this season and it showed. KC had the majority of possession and deserved to win. DC seemed to settle for a draw after 65 minutes or so.

 KC's offensive problems seem to be partly by design. In playing a 433 with 4 central midfielders, and both of the other forwards being service reliant, the The team will control for long periods of time but does not seem to have much incisiveness play in the final third. This can be seen when Soony Saad came in for Benny Feilhaber in the 70th minute and changed the KC attack. He constantly run at players with the ball, something that for all there talents Sapong, and Beiler are not going to provide routinely. This put the DC defense on their heels. It was his pressing of the DC defense, that allowed him to strip the ball and make the cross to Beiler for the goal. Moving forward KC will need more movement and service from Feilhaber and Zusi. They have the forwards in Beiler and Sapong to finish chances, and have great midfielders but need to have more decisive and dynamic play making to set up scoring chances.

DC needs a makeover. With DeRo, DeLeon and Thorington out the DC midfield was found wanting. Both -Raphael's, need to be more involved in the game. They have both shown they can score but not really help in  the build up. While Pontius has shown he can be a offensive force in the game Marcos Sanchez has yet to show he can play at the speed of MLS., and Pajoy is active and good at setting up teammates but rarely looks a threat to score.  It does seem to be a problem, that the most effective looking offensive player on the team, Carlos Ruiz, has yet to be given more than 20 minutes run. I am not looking at the day in and day out performances in training but I do wonder what Ben Olsen is looking for, that he leaves Ruiz on the bench in this game.